I Quit My Job…To Pursue My Dreams!

I quit my job.

Even typing those words makes me both giddy and scared! (There must be a word for being both giddy and scared.) I walked into my office and tendered by two weeks notice on Monday. Sadly, my departure will not be met with a “going away, we will miss you party”. I will not be leaving under the best of circumstances. To be honest, it doesn’t matter. Deep down inside I know that I was meant to do so much more. I had to be willing to close this chapter in my life, take a risk, and jump in the pool head first.

So I jumped.

IMG_3902

I cleaned out my office the day I tendered my notice.

Toward the end of 2015, I began to feel lost. The drudgery of getting up at 6:00 am (barely) and going through my daily routine, driving almost an hour to work, sitting at a desk under florescent lighting, traveling from one work commitment to another,  driving almost an hour home, and crashing on the couch was draining my will to live. I only had pockets of time to explore my interests, to relax and live my life. And this schedule has been on repeat for several years over the course of my adult life: work, eat, sleep…play (sometimes).

IMG_3913

IMG_3961

While I enjoyed my current job (to an extent), I am no longer fulfilled. Honestly, I never have been…in any job I’ve held over the years. I’ve worked in retail management, human resources, academia and the non-profit world. There is nothing that I have done professionally that truly speaks to my heart. Nothing. I’m on a hamster wheel that is spinning and spinning…I am going no where. Stagnant, still, comfortable, and miserable.

Something had to change.

IMG_3866

I hate traffic.

But one thing I knew for sure…I wanted to work for myself. In fact, I wanted to figure out how I could take my hobby of scrapbooking and memory keeping and turn it into a profitable business. Over the past year I have grown my social media presence through YouTube, Facebook and my blog. I began to wonder if there was space for me in this industry. I began to brainstorm my options. Then it hit me! I am an expert trainer. Why not marry my training skills with my hobby; find a way to develop classes that people enjoy and can relate to.  And then more ideas came to mind: host crops, retreats, presenting at crafting conferences, maybe design my own line! The possibilities are endless!!!!!

But, where do I start?

IMG_3907

This bracelet arrived the day I quit my job.

One day while looking for inspiration via YouTube, you know, “quit your job and live your life” videos, I stumbled upon a few life coaches who work specifically with creatives. I had no clue they existed! I quickly found their blogs and podcasts and for months I started to educate myself on developing a creative business. I learned new terms like “creative entrepreneur” and “solo entrepreneur”. I listened to the stories of creatives who left their traditional jobs, took a risk, and started their own businesses. I began to research other creatives in the scrapbooking industry – what do they do and how did they get to where they are today. I became so excited! Finally, my calling (which had been there all along) was too strong to ignore.

I had to do something…FAST!

IMG_3864

The podcast that saved my life!

My spouse and I always knew that we wanted to make changes to our lifestyle that allowed for more freedom and flexibility. If I left my job and started a business, this dream would be reality! So, I set a date: December 16, 2016 would be my last day. Then things changed and now my last day is May 31st.

VICKI…OUT! (Drops mic)

I knew that before I jumped ship, I had to make a plan. I made a vision board. I started working with a life coach (and friend) to help me sort out my thoughts, worries, and fears. I created a online class concept (actually, a list of 30+ classes), researched a platform to host my classes, and spent some time figuring out possible sales projections (simple math, let’s not complicate things).

This WAS going to happen.

IMG_3969

Thank you Zera Coffee Co…my spot to think and birth Victoria Marie.

So, back to May 16th, I tendered my resignation and never felt happier! I gave myself permission to choose my goals and dreams over working for someone else. It’s not in my DNA to answer to a “boss”. I’m the boss…always have been. It feels so good to take control of my life! I am not in the “best” financial position and the stars are not perfectly aligned…but that’s okay. As my life coach tells me, “You are not going to starve or become poor. You will be okay.” (I love you Laurie Johnson!)

I am going to be more than okay…I am going to be GREAT! Victoria Marie will officially launch on June 1, 2016!

IMG_3991

The Official Victoria Marie Headquarters…creativity abounds!

So, what’s coming down the pike:

  • Online/in-person scrapbooking classes!
  • MORE YouTube process videos and tutorials!
  • Continued involvement on scrapbooking design teams
  • Scrapbooking crops and retreats!
  • Digital products such as e-books and printable scrapbooking planning sheets!
  • And much more!!!!!

I am excited for this new journey! The path to success is not always easy, but I’m ready to take the risk!

There is a saying that goes, “Entrepreneurs are the only people who will work 80 hours a week for themselves to avoid working 40 hours a week for someone else.”

Truer words could not have been spoken.

Thanks for joining me on this journey!

Let’s do this!

 

24 thoughts on “I Quit My Job…To Pursue My Dreams!

  1. Lisa says:

    You have the ability, the forethought and the creativity to make this work. Wishing you all the best on your journey, I’m sure it will be wonderful! I’ll be following. (That sounds creepy) but you know what I mean! Hugs, Lisa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly says:

    Congrats!! It is a brave thing to leave your comfort zone to pursue your dreams. My sister left her job probably a year ago to pursue her own business. The mantra she used was an Erin Hanson quote, “What if I fall? Oh, but my darling, what if you fly?” She has flown and her business is super successful! Wish you all the best, Victoria!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Diana says:

    I wish you the best of luck. I quit a great high paying job over a year ago and I have never looked back. You have amazing talent and a great personality. You will succeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nicole fabian says:

    I am so excited for you. There is never a good or perfect time for anything–to have a kid, buy a home, etc. You just have to do it. I look forward to your full-time work on VM and intend to support you however I can. I love your work, your down-to-earth attitude and openness with your viewers. You will be amazing and I’m sure in one year, you’ll look back and see that you have “made it”. Congrats VM–you’re gonna be even more awesome! And if an podcast is in your future, I’d be elated!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jessica Hailey says:

    CONGRATS! You can do it. You’re so flippin talented! I can see the kits, scrappy paper, stickers, tag etc… I’d buy it all too! I wanna be like you when I grow up 😉 You’re one of my sHeros! May God continue to show you favor. Be Blessed

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan B says:

    Congratulations on taking that big leap! I only “know” you from your YouTube videos and your Facebook group but I think you have the talent and the drive to be a big success. Sending along my best wishes for your future – go get ’em Victoria!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sandy Lewis says:

    God bless you Victoria and I will be praying for your success (not that I think you really NEED my prayers, but so I can feel that I’m helping out in some tiny way). You’ve got this!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. meganblethen says:

    Congrats!! I’m so excited for you!! I know you will do great things and go very far with this dream of yours! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.